Preparing for Los Angeles

I am beginning to write about the two months I spent on the west coast during the summer of 2012. Along  the journey, hiking the west coast of the United States from Los Angeles to the Oregon-Washington border and back. I made many notes, snapped some photos, and will write from the best recollection of memories, stories of people I met, and the adventure of traveling into the unknown (to me) without a plan, without much money, but with a wealth of friendships and inspiring experiences I would discover along the journey.

flyingtolaovercloudsSince the age of 19 I knew my dream in life was to travel the world with the simple goal of building relationships. Extending friendship to those on earth who are all-too-often overlooked and ignored by the majority of society. I dreamed of living a life that many wish for, but too few dare to experience. A brilliant adventure with the wind as our steering wheel, giving direction for each passing moment by moment. In the wind is where I find peace. Living from a place where I know nothing about what each day may hold, who I might meet, and what road I may follow – that’s the road for me.

I suppose that civilization itself, requires us to live in a very different world than what I have described above. A world which thinks very little of living with the wind; rather, living to harness or conquer the wind’s force for civilization’s own purposes. A world which relies on schedules, routines, and earnings of income to provide for mankind’s desire to accumulate and pillage natural resources. One man thinks of how to grow life in the earth, which produces benefits for all of life on the earth. Another thinks only of how to utilize life to gain individual power, personal pleasure, and personal security. A man who pursues power for himself creates slavery. A man who pursues pleasure only for himself, denies enjoyment to others. A man who pursues personal security, by any means other than the security that is stored within a human heart, will never truly be secure, and his insecurity will spread to whomever accepts it. I look upon the civilized world as a world much harsher than what one finds in the wild. Civilization is certainly enticing with its comforts, and I am certainly not opposed to enjoying the quality aspects of goods in this world. But when it is the necessity of society to possess items, we become enslaved to that need.

Anyways, back to my story…

I had spent ten months back in my hometown of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. I had previously spent one year living in Olympia, Washington (which is a book in itself), before having the wind blow me back to Oklahoma for awhile. In that ten months I found a rejuvenated sense of purpose and connection to the dreams I had held for as long as I could remember. I began to receive invitations to come work with nonprofits throughout the world. From orphanages in Africa, ministries in Pakistan, Haiti, Dominican Republic, DR Congo, Wales, and more! For the first time my dream seemed tangible. As if it were right in front of my eyes and ready for me to walk.

In June of 2012, Los Angeles began to be a thought in the back of my mind. I had no reason for this, no person living there whom I knew; it was a fleeting thought. One day, June 15, I acted on one of those fleeting thoughts and checked airline ticket prices to LA. In four days, June 19, there was one ticket for $178 – one way. I checked every single other day through the end of July, and every ticket was priced for $300 – $400. I found this quite astounding, gave it a couple of thoughts, and chose that if it the ticket were still that price tomorrow, I would pull the trigger and go. I believe I am on earth for one reason which is to go into all of the world to love people exactly for who they are. I’ am not here to spread any one  religion, nor convert anyone to anything but what we already are.  I believe true friendship is seeing each person as equally valuable, equally loved, and equally blessed with the full measure of love and compassion.

The next morning I awoke to find (to my amazement) the ticket was still priced at $178. I purchased the ticket and now I had a couple of days to wait before going one-way to Los Angeles (this was the extent of my plan).

Stay tuned for my next post about arriving in Los Angeles, walking to Venice Beach, and a glimpse into what it’s like staying one night at a hostel and the next night at an IHOP.

Categories: Blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

