Walking from LAX: Beginning the journey.

I booked a late flight on June 19 so as to give me a late enough arrival at the LAX airport to collect my thoughts and wait out the night before hitting the streets of LA at sunrise. I found an out of the way spot and attempted, unsuccessfully, to get a few hours of sleep underneath some chairs in the terminal of Los Angeles International Airport. If the three radio songs on continuous repeat weren’t enough, it was quite cold in the airport making sleep something quite improbable. Once about 4:30 am came I decided to go outside and begin my quest to Los Angeles. I took my first steps outside of the airport and waited on a direction. The wind was blowing from the south, so I followed the winds advice and started walking north.

My first desire was to see the Pacific Ocean, my old friend I hadn’t seen in about two years. It seemed I had hiked for hours before I could catch a glimpse of the ocean, which the airport was within a mile to the east. I walked on a very long sidewalk from the airport when I noticed a few joggers beginning their day with a run, cars driving by on the busy street, and a few places where some beautiful plant life was growing along the road I had not remembered seeing before. These sights began to bring with them a feeling that I had truly arrived.

viewfromloyalaI continued walking north, clueless as to where I was actually going and what lay ahead, until I happened to find a coffee shop called The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf where I stopped to utilize their free wifi and learn a little more about where I was going and what was ahead. I continued walking and happened upon Loyola Marymount University, where I stopped for a few moments to snap a picture of the houses below its hilltop location. I met a man and woman who were waiting for the bus and had some excellent conversation. They inquired about what I was doing and I informed them of my exploration and recent arrival in LA. They wished me the best of luck and welcomed me to their city!

Categories: Blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

